top of page
  • Writer's pictureINFINI

Electronic Displays as Mixed Media Element

Updated: Jan 22, 2023

I’ve toyed with the idea of using electronic displays in photos for some time. That’s typically the reverse of using photos in electronic displays. I treat the displays as a creative element, a prop like any other, but that have their own set of unique benefits such as retroactively adding fitting imagery into a shot.



One day it popped into my head that while using a display like a tablet in a shot provides the opportunity for getting a variety of related shots, wouldn’t it be interesting to use an actual electronic display in the final presentation of the shot. Like physically mount the phone or tablet ON a hard metal print. And then I could run a slideshow on it. And now the whole assembly is dynamic and takes on a new, mixed media life of its own.


So I thought of a few shots, rounded up my model, and after the photo session asked her to sign and kiss the back of the actual tablet she used so that when I mounted it to the final display, there would be only one, unique manifestation of the whole piece.



And there you have it. Portal (alternatively titled Miss Communication 1): A series of one. But the assembly is a dynamic presentation of a series of associated shots, while itself being a unique run of only one handmade artwork. It is available for purchase >here<. UPDATE JAN 2022: Miss Communication 1 has been sold at the Dallas Chocolate and Art Show! You can still own a copy of this enchanting whimsical artwork by using the link above (except the tablet will be unadorned by the model's lips or signature)









In the process of creating the auxiliary series of related single shot artworks, honey was a recurring theme. I poured it on fruit, I dripped it from dispensers. And when compiling some of these artworks I thought it would be aesthetically pleasing to add in supporting elements like say, a flower, a telephone cord, or an actual living, stinging honey bee.


I contacted a local apiary which was enthusiastic about lending support behind my proposal of photographing one or two of their bees on an isolated "stage" if you will.


What Price Art?


For my creative efforts I received three bee stings in the process (no one else was injured in the fracas). I ran around outside literally pulling angry bees out of my hair with my bare hands; pity no one considered it worthy of recording to post on social media. My ear became swollen and lopsided and my thumb itched for days afterwards.


I thought yellow jackets and wasps were the angry mofos of the stinging insect world. Was it worth it? I don’t know, what do you think? Would the shot be as good without that angry little guy in the corner? Girl actually. The bee world is a united sisterhood characterized by uncommon sweetness until scorned.


A quirky, fun, provocative, intriguing, whimsical piece for your enjoyment. It can be purchased HERE either as a static print or the fully functioning multimedia artwork.


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page